Southwest Allen County Schools to Limit Bus Routes

May 7, 2015

Fort Wayne Community Schools bus fleet.
Credit Virginia Alvino / WBOI News

Southwest Allen County Schools will enforce and expand its no transportation  zones for some of its schools this fall.

SACS says limiting its bus routes could save  the district $200,000 per year.  Deer Ridge Elementary, Woodside Middle and Covington Elementary schools will  join the five existing Southwest Allen schools with transportation limits.   

Limited transportation funding has impacted other area districts as well. Fort Wayne Community Schools will begin enforcing no transportation zones for all of  its schools in the fall.   

School transportation is supported by property taxes in Indiana - the budget gaps  stem from tax caps which were enacted in 2009.   

Southwest Allen County Schools will send letters to families this summer,  informing them of their transportation status.