opinion

Opinion - Health
5:03 pm
Wed September 17, 2014

Remembering Your Right of Refusal

IPFW Associate Professor and medical ethicist Abraham Schwab.
Credit Courtesy / Abraham Schwab

Let’s say that your father, mother, grandmother, sister, or other family member is admitted to the hospital. Given their poor and slowly deteriorating health, this admission comes as no surprise. Your loved one makes it through the event and is now ready to be discharged from the hospital.

Where should they go?

The answer we all would like to give: the place that best fits their medical and personal needs.

Read more
Opinion - Health
5:17 pm
Wed August 13, 2014

The Business of Ebola

IPFW Associate Professor and medical ethicist Abraham Schwab.
Credit Courtesy / Abraham Schwab

As we all know, two individuals infected with Ebola now reside in Atlanta, Georgia. After they were identified as infected, they were flown to Atlanta in a special containment plane and then taken to a containment unit at Emory University.

Once at Emory they received an experimental serum, ZMapp, which, in animals, has been effective in eradicating the disease in individuals.

Read more
Opinion - Food
5:50 pm
Wed August 6, 2014

Handcrafted Cocktails Lift Spirits in Northeast Indiana

Sean Richardson and Aaron Butts of Fort Wayne's The Golden share a few minutes over a drink. The Golden is a pop-up business dedicated to creating craft cocktails.
Credit Adam Garland / for WBOI News

What defines a good night out for you? For me, it’s great friends, fantastic food, and more recently, a preciously crafted cocktail.

Historically, the last in this list has been difficult to find in our region. Fort Wayne was a city of banal concoctions—Jack ‘n Coke, Vodka n’ anything, and premixed martinis and margaritas dominate the bar scene. Enter the age of the craft cocktail.

Read more
Opinion - Politics
5:30 pm
Wed July 30, 2014

How Regulation Can Build Community

Andrew Downs, Director of the Mike Downs Center for Indiana Politics at IPFW.
Credit Courtesy / Andrew Downs

Bloomington, Ind., recently adopted an ordinance that requires all chain businesses to meet a visual standard.  The visual standard means that chain businesses such as restaurants and retail outlets most likely will not be able to build their usual buildings or modify buildings to look like their usual buildings.  Instead, the businesses will have to complement the architecture, façade, scale, and signage of their neighbors.  The ordinance applies only to downtown and an area west of the Indiana University campus. 

Read more
Opinion - Health
3:48 pm
Fri July 18, 2014

Facebook, Baby's Blood, and the Debate Over Informed Consent

IPFW Associate Professor and medical ethicist Abraham Schwab.
Credit Courtesy / Abraham Schwab

Every once in a while I wonder if I’ve just been part of a research study that didn’t require consent. Now I know this is a trick of the mind—I know about so many such studies that I’m ready to think I might be involved in one.

Read more
Opinion - Food
7:32 am
Thu July 10, 2014

Summer Sizzle: The Fort's Best Burgers

The Chicago Burger at Hall's Gas House is among the best burgers in Fort Wayne, according to Amber Recker.
Credit Amber Recker / for WBOI News

Nothing says summer like a big, juicy burger. So in honor of this warm-weather staple, I set out to find the Fort’s best.

After a heated debate on various social media networks and tallying over one hundred votes, the top six restaurants emerged.

Read more
Opinion - Politics
6:16 pm
Thu June 26, 2014

They Gathered in Indy to Talk About What?

Andrew Downs, Director of the Mike Downs Center for Indiana Politics at IPFW.
Credit Courtesy / Andrew Downs

A recent episode of WBOI Presents featured IPFW historian Jeffrey Malanson and political scientist Mike Wolf discussing the two ways the United States Constitution can be amended according to Article V.  One of the methods has been used 27 times.  The other has never been used. 

Read more
Opinion - Health
4:47 pm
Thu June 19, 2014

"Respecting Choices" in Northeast Indiana

Tyrion Lannister knows how he wants to die (click for animation).
Credit Courtesy / HBO

It’s an absurd question when you mull it over. It’s mildly rude, it’s unusual, and it’s disturbing to contemplate. It can be a threat or it can signal sympathy. So let me ask you: how would you like to die?

Even the sardonic Tyrion Lannister, from the epic and brutal Game of Thrones on HBO, wants familiar comfort (click the image to see what he has to say).

Read more
Opinion - Food
6:02 pm
Wed June 4, 2014

Ranked: The Fort’s Tastiest Wings

The wings at Tower Bar and Grill took a top spot on Amber Recker's list because of the special rubs available and the option to order them grilled.
Credit Amber Recker / for WBOI News

For years, I’ve listened to people debate about which Fort Wayne restaurant serves the best wings, so I did some crowdsourcing to identify the top spots and set out to try them myself. Based on hundreds of responses on Twitter and Facebook, I narrowed the list to the most popular five.

So which place do I think has the best wings? Here are my reviews.

Read more
Opinion - Politics
5:09 pm
Wed May 28, 2014

Summer Committees Offer Legislative Insight

Andrew Downs, Director of the Mike Downs Center for Indiana Politics at IPFW.
Credit Courtesy / Andrew Downs

The Indiana General Assembly meets in session until the end of April in odd-numbered years.  This is known as the long-session and is when the two-year budget is drafted and approved. 

In even-numbered years, the General Assembly meets in session until the middle of March.  This is known as the short-session.  You can see the archive of legislative activity and deadline information here

Read more

Pages