opinion

Opinion - Health
4:47 pm
Thu June 19, 2014

"Respecting Choices" in Northeast Indiana

Tyrion Lannister knows how he wants to die (click for animation).
Credit Courtesy / HBO

It’s an absurd question when you mull it over. It’s mildly rude, it’s unusual, and it’s disturbing to contemplate. It can be a threat or it can signal sympathy. So let me ask you: how would you like to die?

Even the sardonic Tyrion Lannister, from the epic and brutal Game of Thrones on HBO, wants familiar comfort (click the image to see what he has to say).

Read more
Opinion - Food
6:02 pm
Wed June 4, 2014

Ranked: The Fort’s Tastiest Wings

The wings at Tower Bar and Grill took a top spot on Amber Recker's list because of the special rubs available and the option to order them grilled.
Credit Amber Recker / for WBOI News

For years, I’ve listened to people debate about which Fort Wayne restaurant serves the best wings, so I did some crowdsourcing to identify the top spots and set out to try them myself. Based on hundreds of responses on Twitter and Facebook, I narrowed the list to the most popular five.

So which place do I think has the best wings? Here are my reviews.

Read more
Opinion - Politics
5:09 pm
Wed May 28, 2014

Summer Committees Offer Legislative Insight

Andrew Downs, Director of the Mike Downs Center for Indiana Politics at IPFW.
Credit Courtesy / Andrew Downs

The Indiana General Assembly meets in session until the end of April in odd-numbered years.  This is known as the long-session and is when the two-year budget is drafted and approved. 

In even-numbered years, the General Assembly meets in session until the middle of March.  This is known as the short-session.  You can see the archive of legislative activity and deadline information here

Read more
Opinion - Health
3:43 pm
Wed May 21, 2014

HIP, Hoosiers and Incentivizing Health

IPFW Associate Professor and medical ethicist Abraham Schwab.
Credit Courtesy / Abraham Schwab

On Thursday, May 15, Governor Pence announced ‘HIP 2.0,' the proposed Indiana alternative to the Medicaid expansion. A long time coming, this will affect the 1.2 million Hoosiers who fall below the Federal Poverty Level (FPL) and an additional 440,000 who fall between the 100% and 138% of the FPL.

Read more
Opinion - Food
3:07 pm
Thu May 8, 2014

Vietnamese Cuisine Shines In the Summit City

Banh Mi Barista's namesake dish, banh mi, is just one of Fort Wayne's fantastic array of Vietnamese food offerings, according to Amber Recker.
Amber Recker For WBOI News

I’ll never forget the first time I experienced Pho (pronounced “fuh,” like fun without the n), a traditional Vietnamese soup consisting of broth, rice noodles, herbs, spices, and meat. My husband and I had wandered into Saigon, a Vietnamese restaurant located on South Calhoun, and asked the waitress for a recommendation. She directed us to the Pho section of the menu, and it changed our lives—I am not exaggerating.

Read more
Opinion - Politics
3:05 pm
Wed April 30, 2014

Remembering the Past To Help the Future

Andrew Downs, Director of the Mike Downs Center for Indiana Politics at IPFW.
Credit Courtesy / Andrew Downs

May is National Historic Preservation Month.  This is the month when federal, state, and local governments, non-profits, and other organizations engage in a special effort to instill pride in our histories, promote heritage tourism, and show the economic and social benefits of historic preservation. 

Read more
Opinion - Food
2:30 pm
Fri April 18, 2014

Culinary School Enriches Fort Wayne's Food Culture

Lamb pilaf, prepared by culinary students at Ivy Tech Northeast.
Amber Recker

Establishing a strong local food culture has been on my radar for years, and based on the increasing prevalence of locally-owned restaurants and other food-related businesses, our region is gaining momentum.

Many factors contribute to our growing local food economy, and since the 1980s, Ivy Tech has been a big one. Through its Hospitality Administration Department, it offers the area’s only culinary program, providing students an opportunity to study culinary, baking, and pastry arts, and it has been churning out talent.

Read more
Opinion
2:06 pm
Thu April 10, 2014

Keep Your Head in the Game

IPFW Associate Professor and medical ethicist Abraham Schwab.
Credit Courtesy / Abraham Schwab

This Friday, the Indiana Pacers face the Miami Heat for the fourth time this season, a game that will likely determine home court advantage for the Eastern Conference Playoffs.

The Pacers won two of the first three meetings, due in no small part to the play of Roy Hibbert. Hibbert scored 21 points in their third meeting on March 26, and affected Chris Bosh’s attempt at a game-winning shot. Bosh’s attempt fell short and the Pacers won 84-83. But, after taking an elbow like this earlier in the fourth quarter, I wonder if Hibbert should have been benched for his own protection.

Read more
Opinion - Politics
4:32 pm
Wed March 26, 2014

No One Said It Would Be Easy

Andrew Downs, Director of the Mike Downs Center for Indiana Politics at IPFW.
Credit Courtesy / Andrew Downs

Minnesota has one of those problems many states would like to have. It is trying to figure out what do to with a growing budget surplus.  According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the January seasonally adjusted unemployment rate in Minnesota was the ninth best rate in the United States at 4.7% and the economy is growing.  Short-term projections for the state are that there will be 42,000 more jobs by the fourth quarter of 2014 than there were in the fourth quarter of 2013. 

Read more
Opinion - Health
2:27 pm
Wed March 19, 2014

School Districts Need a Uniform Policy for Allergens in the Classroom

IPFW Associate Professor and medical ethicist Abraham Schwab.
Credit Courtesy / Abraham Schwab

In a 2013 comedy special, Louis C.K. provides a provocative contrast of good thoughts and bad thoughts he calls “Of course . . . But maybe” (Ed.: video contains content some readers may find offensive).

His first example: “Of course” we should protect children with nut allergies by segregating their food. Of course we should. “But maybe” if you touch a nut and it kills you, you’re supposed to die.

Read more

Pages