opinion

Ranked: The Fort’s Tastiest Wings

Jun 4, 2014
Amber Recker / for WBOI News

For years, I’ve listened to people debate about which Fort Wayne restaurant serves the best wings, so I did some crowdsourcing to identify the top spots and set out to try them myself. Based on hundreds of responses on Twitter and Facebook, I narrowed the list to the most popular five.

So which place do I think has the best wings? Here are my reviews.

Summer Committees Offer Legislative Insight

May 28, 2014
Courtesy / Andrew Downs

The Indiana General Assembly meets in session until the end of April in odd-numbered years.  This is known as the long-session and is when the two-year budget is drafted and approved. 

In even-numbered years, the General Assembly meets in session until the middle of March.  This is known as the short-session.  You can see the archive of legislative activity and deadline information here

HIP, Hoosiers and Incentivizing Health

May 21, 2014
Courtesy / Abraham Schwab

On Thursday, May 15, Governor Pence announced ‘HIP 2.0,' the proposed Indiana alternative to the Medicaid expansion. A long time coming, this will affect the 1.2 million Hoosiers who fall below the Federal Poverty Level (FPL) and an additional 440,000 who fall between the 100% and 138% of the FPL.

Vietnamese Cuisine Shines In the Summit City

May 8, 2014
Amber Recker / For WBOI News

I’ll never forget the first time I experienced Pho (pronounced “fuh,” like fun without the n), a traditional Vietnamese soup consisting of broth, rice noodles, herbs, spices, and meat. My husband and I had wandered into Saigon, a Vietnamese restaurant located on South Calhoun, and asked the waitress for a recommendation. She directed us to the Pho section of the menu, and it changed our lives—I am not exaggerating.

Remembering the Past To Help the Future

Apr 30, 2014
Courtesy / Andrew Downs

May is National Historic Preservation Month.  This is the month when federal, state, and local governments, non-profits, and other organizations engage in a special effort to instill pride in our histories, promote heritage tourism, and show the economic and social benefits of historic preservation. 

Culinary School Enriches Fort Wayne's Food Culture

Apr 18, 2014
Amber Recker

Establishing a strong local food culture has been on my radar for years, and based on the increasing prevalence of locally-owned restaurants and other food-related businesses, our region is gaining momentum.

Many factors contribute to our growing local food economy, and since the 1980s, Ivy Tech has been a big one. Through its Hospitality Administration Department, it offers the area’s only culinary program, providing students an opportunity to study culinary, baking, and pastry arts, and it has been churning out talent.

Keep Your Head in the Game

Apr 10, 2014
Courtesy / Abraham Schwab

This Friday, the Indiana Pacers face the Miami Heat for the fourth time this season, a game that will likely determine home court advantage for the Eastern Conference Playoffs.

The Pacers won two of the first three meetings, due in no small part to the play of Roy Hibbert. Hibbert scored 21 points in their third meeting on March 26, and affected Chris Bosh’s attempt at a game-winning shot. Bosh’s attempt fell short and the Pacers won 84-83. But, after taking an elbow like this earlier in the fourth quarter, I wonder if Hibbert should have been benched for his own protection.

No One Said It Would Be Easy

Mar 26, 2014
Courtesy / Andrew Downs

Minnesota has one of those problems many states would like to have. It is trying to figure out what do to with a growing budget surplus.  According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the January seasonally adjusted unemployment rate in Minnesota was the ninth best rate in the United States at 4.7% and the economy is growing.  Short-term projections for the state are that there will be 42,000 more jobs by the fourth quarter of 2014 than there were in the fourth quarter of 2013. 

Courtesy / Abraham Schwab

In a 2013 comedy special, Louis C.K. provides a provocative contrast of good thoughts and bad thoughts he calls “Of course . . . But maybe” (Ed.: video contains content some readers may find offensive).

His first example: “Of course” we should protect children with nut allergies by segregating their food. Of course we should. “But maybe” if you touch a nut and it kills you, you’re supposed to die.

Amber Recker / For WBOI News

The locavore movement is starting to take hold in Northeast Indiana, as is evident by the growing popularity of farmers markets. We want to know where our food is grown and raised. When you buy produce from the grocery store, you don’t know where or by whom it was grown.

Pages